My Baptism

Hi guys!

My sister and I got baptized on Saturday. I was going to mention it in an earlier blog post, I didn’t get round to doing it. (Duh.)

I know a few people who follow this blog who were planning on coming but ended up not coming at all.

I just wanted to say that both Olivia and I were really sad that you couldn’t come and we hope we will see you all really soon! X


Okay! Onwards!

img-20161112-wa0013
These are my cousins (and siblings) on my mum’s side minus one (Wilfred). (Girls from left to right) Cathryn, Hope, Esme, Narin (or Rojin), Olivia,  Lois, Annabel, Rojin (or Narin), Me and Ariya. (Boys from left to right) Shivan, Jacob, Theo, Joash, Caleb (behind Annabel), Myles, Logan (the little one), Luke and Eben. My Great-Grannie is sitting in the middle of us all.

Yup! That is a whooping  20 grandkids, with one on the way!  My cousins on my dad’s side came too but we didn’t manage to get a picture of them.

We saw lots of family and friends, which I really loved.

20161120_165603

My sister and I got to chose 4 hymns. Here is what we chose.

    Stand up, stand up for Jesus,
Ye soldiers of the cross;
Lift high his royal banner,
It must not suffer loss.
From victory unto victory
His army shall he lead,
Till every foe is vanquished,
And Christ is Lord indeed.


And can it be that I should gain
an interest in the Savior’s blood?
Died he for me, who caused his pain?
for me, who him to death pursued?
Amazing love! How can it be
that thou, my God, shouldst die for me?


We have heard the joyful sound:
Jesus saves! Jesus saves!
Spread the tidings all around:
Jesus saves! Jesus saves!
Bear the news to every land,
Climb the mountains, cross the waves;
Onward! ’tis our Lord’s command;
Jesus saves! Jesus saves!


Have you heard the voice of Jesus
Softly pleading with your heart?
Have you felt His presence glorious,
As He calls your soul apart,
With a love so true and loyal,
Love divine that ever flows
From a Saviour, righteous, royal,
And a cross that mercy shows?


We shared our testimonies …

Amber’s Testimony

When I was around 5 or 6 I asked God to save me, I realised that I needed Him. I had sinned and He was the only one to deliver me from the Devil’s grasp. This was the first of many times I asked God to save me, it was constant. I never really knew for certain if I was saved. When I asked adults for their testimonies they always felt something in their hearts, they always seemed to know they were saved from the moment they opened their eyes, so why wouldn’t I be any different?

So out I went, searching for a feeling. When I asked again to be saved I felt like I lit up like a Christmas Tree. I truly believed I was saved that time but it didn’t last long. I once again found myself believing I wasn’t saved and once again asked God to save me, expecting a feeling at the end. Then I thought ‘maybe I am saved I just don’t know it yet’. The prayers then changed from ‘Please save me’ to ‘please give me a sign that I am saved’. The cycle went on until one day a friend told me that they were getting baptised. When I heard the news I was a bit jealous. My friend is younger than me, why was she getting baptised and not me? My dad noticed that I wasn’t my normal self and took me out for a drive. He asked how I was feeling and I explained. Then he told me that he and my mum had been expecting me to make a profession of faith. My parents had seen a change in my life which I hadn’t been aware of. My dad then asked if I was a Christian, for the first time I thought about it really deeply. ‘I don’t think so’ I said. ‘What makes you think you are not?’ I thought deeply again, why did I think I wasn’t saved? After some thought I realised why I doubted. If I was saved I would know the exact date, I hadn’t a day to give. My dad then explained to me that he thought that I might be experiencing attacks from the Devil. The Devil was telling me that I wasn’t saved so that I would be further away from God. 

When I got home I prayed. I asked God to get rid of all my doubts and to stop the Devil from whispering into my ear, telling me lies and leading me away from where I was meant to be.  I had been wanting to trust in feelings and experiences but I needed to simply to trust in the Lord.

Ever since that day I have been a true follower. I have been growing spiritually and learnt that I can trust God whenever and wherever. I have been spreading the good news wherever I can and I believe in His Word and know that I can walk by faith and not by sight.

 

 

Olivia’s Testimony

Almost every night since I was younger I would be convicted of my sins and ask God to save me but the next day I would just go back to my normal sinful life. I was in constant doubt about whether or not I was saved. I thought that because I was in doubt I was not saved. Until rather recently I read a book by Elizabeth George. As she was talking about giving your heart to the Lord Jesus she  asked a question, ‘Are you spiritually alive?’ She said that there are only three answers possible, No, I’m not sure and Yes. She went on to talk about each answer and she also suggested a little prayer for each answer. As I was reading the prayer for the second answer I was thinking ‘this is exactly the prayer I should be praying’. So right there I prayed that the Lord would give me assurance. Over the next few weeks and months He gave me signs through the sermons that Robert preached and since then I am certain that I am one of God’s children and that my sins are forgiven.

 

And then we had …

 


 

So that was that!

Have you been baptized? Let me know in the comments! I’d love to hear from you!

Amber Xx

 

6 thoughts on “My Baptism

  1. That is such a cute picture! I remember meeting Narin and Rojin at Sunday School once. I guess you still find it difficult to tell them apart 😂. I don’t remember meeting Cathryn, but there is such a resemblance between her and Esmee. You have all grown up so much (including Eben- he is even taller than you). Do you remember when we all met at the evening service and played outside with Eben and your other friend (whose name I still can’t remember). It is lovely to see all of you. It really warmed my heart to see such a big family together, it reminded me of my own family in Euroope and in the Carribean. Please say hi to everyone (especially Olivia) for me and send them my love.

    God bless you, Jada-Virginia

    On Mon, Nov 21, 2016 at 4:42 PM, Daughters of God wrote:

    > Amber Baker posted: “Hi guys! My sister and I got baptized on Saturday. I > was going to mention it in an earlier blog post, I didn’t get round to > doing it. (Duh.) I know a few people who follow this blog who were planning > on coming but ended up not coming at all. I just wan” >

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww! Thanks!
      I really do love it when our family gets together!
      Yes, Eben is a year younger than me and he is taller and his voice is much deeper than when I last saw him … I feel old!!!!

      I roughly remember playinv with you and Eben. I can’t remember the other friend. Was it a girl or a boy? #thisisreallyannoyingme

      I was so sad that you could come! We need to see each other really soon! Xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

