Define Obsession

According to Google …

  • the state of being obsessed with someone or something.
  • an idea or thought that continually preoccupies or intrudes on a person’s mind.

Truth be told, we have all been obsessed with something in our lives. Own up. 😉

A lot of girls can be obsessed with a lot of things. Clothes, shoes, films, makeup, music, shopping, TV shows, sunglasses, hair curlers, snapchat, Netflix, losing weight, instagram, Robert Pattinson, hair gloss, lipstick, IPhones and maybe even some food.

What are boys obsessed with? Nerf guns and computer games?! I have no clue!

#girlswithteenbrotherspleasehelpmeout #!!!!

Ok, back to the point…

I few times when I was younger, I heard my dad say in a few sermons, “We have to be careful that we do not replace God.”

In Sunday School I learnt about Achan. How he stole from God. How his love for silver and gold was greater than his love for God. I also learnt about King Saul.  King Saul was a godly man but his faith and love for God somehow disappeared. Maybe that was because his kingdom, riches and pleasure were more important to him than God.

You see, we can replace God easily with the things of this world, and that is why I think that the proper definition of obsession should be …

  • Breaking the first commandment

Thou shalt have no other gods before me – Exodus 20 v 3

Hear me out, when we are obsessed with something, ours minds are completely focused on that thing, be it a person, song or TV show, anything. When we get way too attached to that one thing it becomes a god. That might sound a little strange but it’s the truth.

 

Have you ever seen a girl’s room completely covered in Justin Bieber posters?

 

Image result for justin bieber room

Image result for justin bieber room

Related image

That is proof that these girls look at Justin Bieber and worship him.

That’s what obsession can do.

(I’m not saying that it’s wrong to listen to Justin Bieber, I personally don’t listen to him but if you do listen to his songs I’m not going to judge.)

Obsession is breaking the first commandment.

We might not want to admit it but sometimes we love other things more than we love God.

That’s a big problem.

… Thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy strength, and with all thy mind … – Luke 10 v 27

I think this is a good verse to memorize.

Next time we become obsessed with something maybe we can tell ourselves this …

I will not love {obsession} with all my heart, and with all my soul, and with all my strength, and with all my mind.

Let’s not replace God with that TV show or Justin Bieber.

God is more powerful than hair curlers or Netflix.

We need to be reminded that lipstick and shoes won’t be needed in Heaven.

Sure, those are all nice things to have and we enjoy them, but don’t make them a god.

define obsession

  • breaking the first commandment

 

 

 

Amber Xx

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Define Obsession

Leave a Reply

